top button
    Astro Community
Facebook Login
Site Registration

what is nakshatra?

0 votes
posted Apr 21, 2017 by anonymous

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

3 Answers

0 votes

he zodiac according to Indian Astrology comprises of 360 degrees. There are 27 Nakshatras or constellations in it. Therefore, the value of each constellation is 13 degrees and 20 minutes when measured from the fixed initial point. Each Nakshtra is divided in padas or charan, every Nakshtra has 4 padas or charan. These 27 Nakshatras (constellations) complete the entire circle of 360 degrees of the zodiac.
The concept of Nakshatras is used in Vedic Astrology for accurate predictions and astrological analysis. Janamanakshtra is the Nakshatra in which the Natal Moon is placed at the time of birth. Janamnakstra gives an insights to one's thinking patterns, characterstics of the person and calculating the dasha period. As per our Hindu Mythology, Moon had married all the 27 daughters of King Dakshan, who are the 27 nakshatras in the sky. But, Moon loved to spend time with only one his beloved queen Rohini Nakshtara, which is also the exaltation point for Moon. Other wives (Nakshtras) complained to their father (King Dakshan), repeated requested to Moon by King was unable to change Moon's nature, finally King Dakshan got angry and cursed Moon, causing it to wane in size. Moon started diminishing in size. Since the consequences of this was not good, all Devas intervened and requested King Dakshan to withdraw the curse. King was given assurance that Moon will visit all his wives, since the curse cannot be revoked completely, King Dakshan said Moon will regained his strength for half a month, that is the reason Moon transits all 27 nakshtras in a month, completing the zodiac orbit causing Amavasya and Poornima by waxing and waning in size.

answer Apr 26, 2017 by Vasishta
0 votes

Nakshatra Names and Their Meanings

According to Vedic astrology, there are twenty seven nakshatras or birth stars inhabiting each of the twenty seven segments of the elliptical zodiac. The names of Nakshatras along with their meanings is given below.

Ashwini - Horse-like-woman
Bharani - Bearer-woman
Krittika - Cutting woman
Rohini - Red woman
Mrigashirsha - Head of a deer
Ardra - Moist One
Punarvasu - Return of the Light
Pushya - Nourishing
Ashlesha - The embracer
Magha - The great one
Purva Phalguni - Former reddish one
Uttara Phalguni - Latter reddish one
Hasta - The hand
Chitra - The bright one
Swati - Sword or Independence
Vishaka - Fork shaped(having branches)
Anuradha - Disciple of divine spark
Jyeshta - The eldest
Moola - The root
Purva Ashadha - Early Victory or The Undefeated
Uttara Ashada - Latter Victory or latter Undefeated
Shravana - Hearing
Dhanistha - The richest one
Shatabhisaa - Hundred healers
Purva Bhadrapada - Former happy feet
Uttara Bhadrapada - Latter happy feet
Revati - The wealthy

answer Apr 26, 2017 by Vasishta
0 votes

Dear Friend,
Greetings of the day from siddhivinayak Solutionss!!
First the zodiac was divided into 12 main rasis, to study the effects of the planets placed there. Then the ancient seers added another sub divisional system of breaking down the zodiac into 27 Nakshatras or star constellations. Each nakshatra has a span of 13 degrees and 20 minutes. After that each nakshatra was further subdivided into 4 Padas, or quarters, of 3 degrees and 20 minutes. Hence the first zodiac sign Aries, which has 30 degrees, contains the entire 4 padas (13:20′) of the 1st star constellation Ashwini, the entire 4 padas (13:20′) of the 2nd star constellation Bharani and the 1st pada (3:20′) of the third star constellation Krittika.


answer Nov 17, 2017 by Vishnuprasad Mallya
Similar Questions